The books that changed my life #2: Breakfast at Tiffany’s

mzi9X7bWII8ky4d-Aid3pDg

I first remember reading this when I was about 15; my mum had received the book as a freebie from Red magazine and I was also doing a cackhanded GCSE art project on ‘old Hollywood’. I’d become obsessed with Audrey Hepburn before it became the done thing. So, I devoured the book and marvelled at how different it was to the film.

A few years later, Benn took me to see the West End show with Anna Friel as Holly Golightly. I lost my favourite hat that night.

But the reason this book maintains such an importance for me is that I re-read the whole thing in the early stages of giving birth. Yup. I went 26 hours with my waters broken and false contractions and the hospital wouldn’t take me in just yet. I couldn’t sleep- pain, fluids- and I was too restless to watch TV. So I picked up the book again and read the whole thing in a couple of hours (it’s not a long book by any stretch of the imagination.)

I have no idea why I picked up Breakfast at Tiffany’s rather than, say, another book with short entries. I think it was a comfort thing, the grown up version of a favourite soft toy.

2 thoughts on “The books that changed my life #2: Breakfast at Tiffany’s

  1. Can you picture a remake of this movie some 2o years after the original. Picture in your mind the song Moon-river playing and imagine the following:
    -Twenty years or so have passed when a more youthful Holly GoLightly would feel the urge to hitch a cab and jaunt along New York’s 5th Avenue in an never ending quest to seek out an old friend she called, Tiffany’s. Much older and less carefree as she had been in her twenties, a much wiser Holly GoLightly slowly exited the cab but not before handing off a freshly pressed fifty dollar bill to the driver. She paused for a moment as if reflecting upon the fifty note and what it meant some twenty years ago -accompanied by a trip to the ‘ol powder room. Closing the cab door, Holly leisurely approached the department store window, stood for a moment while adjusting her Gucci red colored sunglasses; she could not help but smile. After all, she has stood gazing at this same spot a myriad of times before and to Holly, looking through a window at Tiffany’s with it’s sea of gold and shimmery jewelry was like peering into the eyes of an old friend.-

    Like

Leave a Reply

