Not That Kind Of Girl- Lena Dunham

Lena Dunham "Not that kind of girl" - Besides "How to be Parisian" my top read this fall!

According to Wikipedia, Lena Dunham is two years younger than me and this make me quite jealous in the same way that Lady Gaga being two years younger than me does- highly talented New Yorkers who are at the top of their game when it comes to career and creativity. And yet, I’m fascinated by them too (and would probably be desperate to be friends with them if I knew them.) Anyway, I came to Dunham’s book with little prior knowledge; I have yet to watch Girls and I was vaguely aware that she was friends with both Taylor Swift and Caitlin Moran.

A lot has been said about the controversies in the book- there’s an account of an incident with her sister that especially caused heated debate- and I won’t rehash them here. What I will say is that I found the collection of essays interesting, heartbreaking and varied. Everything is covered here, from Dunham’s obsessive compulsive disorder, her quest to find her sexuality through a tumultuous puberty and the time she worked at New York’s most expensive babywear store.

There was stuff here I identified with- especially about body image and self confidence- and advice that I thought was very sound and I understood why Dunham has such a strong following. I also understood how she came to be a polarising figure in feminism. She’s a bit of a Marmite character in that people either love her or hate her. I have decided to check out Girls and see whether I like it, but I’m not rushing out to buy it just yet!

Source:Library

Format: Hardback

Pages: 288

One thought on “Not That Kind Of Girl- Lena Dunham

Leave a Reply

