Book Related New Year’s Resolutions: 2016

1380564

January is always a time when I want to hibernate and just read. I usually am lucky enough to get a stack of books for Christmas (and this year was no different; I received The Woman in Black, The End of Mr Y, How To Ruin A Queen, Shirley- for my Bronte project and two clothbound Penguin classics: Anna Karenina and Madame Bovary.)

Last year, I managed 52 books– one a week (although this obviously varied; some weeks I could read two or three books, some books took almost a month.) I try not to set myself a quota for the year because no one wants to feel stressed about reading, right? FYI: if you have Pinterest and want to keep track of what I’m reading, my 2016 books board is here.

One big resolution I have, though, is that I’m not going to buy any new books for the foreseeable future. I have so many unread books, it’s untrue. So I’m going to hang fire on buying more books until I’ve read some that I already have. I’ve done this before– and I managed it successfully. I’m allowed to use the local library to reserve books, but I’m mainly going to use it for things like knitting and cookery books, rather than novels.

Also, 2016 sees the 200th anniversary of Charlotte Bronte’s birth- and the start of my Bronte project and I’m looking forward to getting stuck in. The only decision is whether I want to start with a biography, the Brontes’ childhood writings or the first published novel (Jane Eyre).

Leave a Reply

