FICTION//A Mother’s Grace- Rosie Goodwin*

a-mother-s-grace

One of the best things about writing a book blog is that I get offered books to review that I wouldn’t normally read; A Mother’s Grace is one of them, but I decided to take the plunge and read something completely different. Rosie Goodwin is one of the 250 most borrowed authors from UK libraries and has written almost 50 books since her first novel was published in 2004 (and yet I have never managed to complete one of my novels. I need to get going!)

Madeline Kettle, a vicar’s daughter from Leeds, marries a cold bully who makes her life difficult. Her only solace comes from the ties she has with her Aunt Gertie and her daughter, Grace. This is a book listed as a family saga, after all, and life does not move easily for Grace- following the collapse of her decision to become a nun and some very unsuitable love interests (the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree when it comes to the Kettle women and their husbands, it seems)- she forges ahead with strength and a strong instinct to survive. Also, side note, one of the baddies of the piece has the same name as my son and this is the second time in a month that I’ve come across this. Is it too late to rename a kid when he’s almost six?!

This is not my cup of tea- and that’s OK!-, but I can see why Rosie Goodwin has such a huge fanbase; she creates whole worlds with loads of period detail and likeable characters (I enjoyed Aunt Gertie) and they’re an easy, engaging read. The series that this book is from is listed as being perfect for fans of Catherine Cookson and I can completely agree with this: female-centred stories (so often derided, but so important) with twists and turns, I have no doubt that this will be gobbled up by Rosie’s fans. I’m glad I briefly stepped outside my comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s