Apple Tree Yard- Louise Doughty

Apple Tree Yard (Nov):

I vaguely remember this having a huge online hype when it first came out, but I ended up picking it up in a charity shop in the summer. On the face of it, it’s just one of a long line of psychological thrillers with a female protagonist. It’s been the genre for a while and I’d kind of just idly bought it- after all, I’d been disappointed with other similar books.

The novel tells the story of Yvonne, a middle aged, married scientist who embarks on a thrilling affair. All goes well, until Yvonne suffers a violent assault and her life starts to spiral out of control. Eventually, she finds herself in court, accused of a hideous murder.

As I was reading this, all I could think was that THIS was what all those other books were trying to emulate. The story hooked me quickly, the main character was just the right side of flawed so that I rooted for her and I didn’t feel like the twists and turns were signposted for me. It’s definitely an intelligent thriller and one that shows how brilliant they can be. Definitely a book that deserves the hype.

Leave a Reply

